Trinamool includes 41% women candidates in list for Lok Sabha polls


19 out of 42 candidates have been replaced. Moonmoon Sen is the only candidate who has been moved from Bankura to Asansol.

With 41% women candidates, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee declared the Trinamool Congress’ candidate list for 2019 Lok Sabha election.

Ms. Banerjee named candidates in all 42 seats, replacing about 50% of the incumbents. Altogether, 19 out of 42 candidates have been replaced in the list announced by Ms. Banerjee on Tuesday afternoon.

In the 2014 election, Ms Banerjee nominated 35% women candidates. “Everyone talking about 33% reservation for women, we nominated 41% women candidates,” she said.

Former actor and MP Moonmoon Sen is the only candidate who has moved from Bankura seat to the prestigious Asansol seat where BJP’s expected candidate is Union Minister Babul Supriyo.

Among senior leaders of Trimanool Congress, who have been dropped or “requested” Ms Banerjee to drop them, is the party’s general secretary Subrata Bakshi.

“He told me that he wants to work for the party at the grassroots level and even wants to do walling,” Ms Banerjee said. Bengal has a tradition of writing party agendas and slogans on the walls.

Among other notable Trinamool MPs in the last Lok Sabha, historian Sugato Basu from Jadavpur constituency and Idris Ali have been dropped.

“Sugata Basu told me that he is not getting permission to contest from his University,” Ms Banerjee said. A Harvard historian, Mr. Basu is the grand nephew of Subhash Chandra Bose.

Idris Ali has been replaced by eminent film actor Nusrat Jahan in Basirhat, where the Muslim vote is a major factor. Four other film actors, two of whom are new, have also made it to the Trinamool’s candidate list.

Veteran politicians who made it to the list are Subrata Mukherjee, the Panchayat Minister from Bankura, Paresh Chandra Adhikary in Cooch Behar, Dasarath Tirkey in Alipurduar, Bijoy Chandra Barman from Jalpaguri.

Sougata Roy, Manas Bhunia, Mala Roy, Kalyan Banerjee, Dinesh Tribedi, Kakuli Ghosh Dastidar are some of the senior and important leaders to feature in the list.

Among others are powerful father-son duo, Dibyendu Adhikari and Sisir Adhikari, from Tamluk and Kanthi constituency in south Bengal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here