Six candidates file nominations


Congress nominee K. Muraleedharan campaigns in Maruthongara, Thottilpalam

The election scene in Kozhikode witnessed some hectic activity with some of the candidates of the main political parties filing their nominations papers on Saturday.

A total of six nominations were filed before the District Collector, who is the returning officer for the two Lok Sabha constituencies of Kozhikode and Vadakara.

Congress leader M.K. Raghavan, who is aiming for a hat trick, filed his nomination papers for contesting from Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency. He submitted four sets of nominations by M.A. Razak, P.M. Rasak, Shaju George and C.P. Narendranath.

Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidates P. Jayarajan and A. Pradeep Kumar submitted nomination papers for contesting the Vadakara and Kozhikode constituencies respectively. Transport Minister A.K. Saseendran, CPI(M) leader Elamaram Kareem and Kozhikode Mayor Thottathil Raveendran accompanied Mr. Pradeep Kumar. Excise Minister T.P. Ramakrishnan, CPI leader E.K. Vijayan, and LJD leader Manyath Chandran accompanied Mr. Jayarajan.

According to the affidavit filed by Mr. Jayarajan, there are pending criminal cases against him, including two murder cases investigated by the CBI.

He has also submitted that the Judicial First Class Magistrate’s Court had convicted him in a case relating to unlawful assembly and destruction of public property in 1997.

The others who filed their nominations were P. Sankaran and Dinesh Mani, contesting from Kozhikode, and K.K. Lathika from Vadakara.

In Vadakara, Congress nominee K. Muraleedharan carried out electioneering work at Maruthongara town and Thottilpalam. IUML State vice president V.K. Abdul Khader inaugurated the UDF election committee office at Thalassery.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here