Pramod Sawant sworn in as Goa Chief Minister


MGP’s Ramkrishna Dhavlikar and Vijai Sardadesai of Goa Forward Party were sworn in as deputy Chief Ministers.

Pramod Sawant (45), former Speaker of Goa legislative Assembly and MLA from Sankhelim in North Goa was on early Tuesday sworn-in as 11th Chief Minister of Goa, succeeding Manohar Parrikar, who died on Sunday after a prolonged battle with advanced pancreatic cancer.

He was given the oath of office and secrecy at Raj Bhavan near here by Goa Governor Mridula Sinha.

Along with the Chief Minister, Sudin alias Ramkrishna Dhavlikar of Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and Vijai Sardesai of Goa Forward Party were sworn in as Deputy Chief Ministers. The entire Cabinet of Manohar Parikkar has been retained. The Ministers who were also sworn-in included Manohar Ajgaonkar (MGP), Rohan Khavtye (independent), Govind Gaude (independent), Vinod Palyekar (Goa forward), Jayesh Salgaonkar (Goa Forward) and four of BJP, namely, Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik aand Nilesh Cabral.

The BJP-led alliance has a strength of 21 which included 12 of BJP, three each of MGP and Goa Forward Party and three Independents in the truncated House of 36 (40). The Opposition Congress has 14 MLAs while Nationalist Congress has one.

Thousands pay tributes to Parrikar

Meanwhile, the final rites of the four-time Goa Chief Minister and former Defence Minister were performed at Miramar near here on Monday evening. A 21-gun salute was accorded to the BJP stalwart.

Mr. Parrikar’s elder son Utpal lit the pyre at Miramar beach as thousands bid adieu to the departed leader, affectionately referred to as ‘Bhai’ across Goa.

The final journey of Mr. Parrikar began from Kala Academy in the city with thousands joining the cortege. Hundreds of common people and party workers lined the street to pay tributes to the leader.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here