NZ vs Ind second ODI: India wins the toss, opts to bowl first


India, trailing 1-0 in a three-match series, won the toss and chose to bowl Saturday in the second one-day international against New Zealand at Eden Park.

New Zealand won the first match of the series by four wickets, chasing down India’s 347-4, its second-highest successful run chase on home soil.

India captain Virat Kohli said he elected to bowl because defending a total would again be difficult on a ground famous for its short boundaries.

Both sides made two changes to their lineups. India named tearaway fast bowler Navdeep Saini in place of Mohammad Shami and Yuzvendra Chahal in place of Kuldeep Yadav.

New Zealand named fast bowler Kyle Jamieson to make his ODI debut in place of leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and Mark Chapman in pace of spinning allrounder Mitch Santner.


Flying high after the 5-0 whitewash of New Zealand in the T20 series, India were brought to the ground after the hosts took a 1-0 lead in the three-match series with a four-wicket win in the first ODI.

The Black Caps chased down their highest-ever total in ODI cricket at Seddon Park and the toss will be crucial once again at the even shorter Eden Park where the side batting second will have a clear advantage.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here