Kerala News, news kerala, kerala online, kerala headlines, corona kerala, Kerala News, Malayalam News, Online

Karnataka bypoll results live | Congress-JD(S) leads in four seats

The bypoll results are also seen an indicator of people’s mood ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections

The ruling Congress-JD(S) coalition candidates in Karnataka were leading in two Lok Sabha constituencies and two Assembly segments in the bypolls held on Saturday, according to initial trends as counting of votes was taken up this morning.

The BJP was ahead in the Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat.

The results are being seen not just as an indicator of people’s mood ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, but also as something that may have a bearing on the stability of the Congress-JD(S) coalition. This is even though the results, technically, cannot bring down the government by affecting its numerical strength.

A total of 31 candidates were in the fray from all the five constituencies, though the contest is mainly between the Congress-JDS combine and the BJP.

Here are live updates:



11: 00 a.m.: After completion of the 14th round, B.Y. Raghavendra of BJP is leading in Shivamogga by a margin of 48,311 votes against Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S)

9: 50 a.m.: After the fifth round, B.Y. Raghavendra of BJP leads by a margin of 15,583 votes against Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S). Mr. Raghavendra has secured 1,55,208 votes and Madhu Bangarappa- 1,39,625 votes.

9: 00 a.m.: B.Y. Raghavendra of BJP is leading in Shivamogga parliamentary seat against Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S) by a margin of 4,674 votes. Mr. Raghavendra has secured 71,302 votes while Mr. Bangarappa has bagged 66,628 votes


10: 45 a.m.: After 12 rounds, Congress’s Ugrappa still leads with 4,44,341 while Shanta trails with 2,70,047.

9: 50 a.m.: After the sixth round of counting, Ugrappa still leads with 2,28,844 votes. Ms. Shanta has secured 1,28,121so far.

9: 30 a.m.: Ugrappa leads by 45,808 against J. Shanta after third round.  He has secured 111,367 votes and Shanta 65,559.

9: 00 a.m: Congress candidate V.S Ugrappa is leading by 17,480 votes against BJP’s J Shantha.


11: 20 a.m.: After the 16th round. L.R. Shivaramegowda of the JD (S) is leading by 2,86,299 votes. He has polled 5,01,782 votes against Siddaramaiah of the BJP, who has secured 2,15,483 votes. The number of NOTA votes is 13,618.

10: 30 a.m.: After the eighth round, L. R. Shivarame Gowda has secured 3,30,264 votes and Siddaramaiah – 1,28,211 votes.

9: 50 a.m.: JD(S) candidate L.R. Shivaramegowda leads with 1,60,299 votes against the BJP candidate Siddaramaiah (58,843 votes).

9: 00 a.m: After the second round,  the JD-S candidate in Mandya has increased the lead. He has secured 34,100, while his close contestant of BJP has polled 10,031 votes. The number of NOTA votes is 674


The Ramanagaram seat was vacated by H.D Kumaraswamy, who also won from the neighbouring Channapatna. His wife Anitha Kumaraswamy is in the fray.  BJP candidate L. Chandrasekhar abruptly retired from the contest.

10: 15 a.m.: After eighth round, Anitha Kumaraswamy has secured 54,868 votes, while BJP candidate L. Chandrasekhar has secured with 7,627 votes.

9: 00 a.m.: After the third round, Anitha Kumaraswamy  she is leading with 17,533 votes. The  votes polled bybthe BJP candidate is 2,720


The Jamkhandi seat fell vacant following the death of Siddu Nyamagouda of the Congress.

Congress candidate Anand Nyamgouda wins by over 39,000 votes defeating BJP candidate Srikant Kulkarni. Mr. Nyamgouda secured over 96,000 votes.

10: 30 a.m.: Anand Nyamgouda of the Congress is heading towards victory: He leads by 29,116 votes after the end of 12 rounds of counting.

9: 00 a.m.: After third round Anand Nyamgouda of Congress leads by 5,543 votes.

8: 45 a.m.: After the first round of counting, Congress candidate Anand Nyamgouda leads by 3,785 votes against BJP candidate Srikant Kulkarni

8 am

Security beefed up

Officials said counting of votes would begin at five centres, one each in five constituencies, at 8 a.m. with a total of 1,248 counting staff deployed

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure to that no untoward incident takes place during the counting of votes, police officials said.

Police have been deployed around the counting centres and strongrooms where the EVMs are placed, they said.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
HK - Like Us
Kerala News, news kerala, kerala online, kerala headlines, corona kerala, Kerala News, Malayalam News, Online, Kerala Headlines, Headlines Kerala, Corona News