Kerala News, news kerala, kerala online, kerala headlines, corona kerala, Kerala News, Malayalam News, Online

IPL 2019 schedule: CSK to play RCB in opener on March 23

BCCI announces a two-week provisional schedule for 17 games.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) that staged a spectacular title winning return to the VIVO Indian Premier League 2018, after serving a two year suspension, will lock horns with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the league’s season 12 opener in Chennai on Saturday, March 23.

Crowned champion for the third time following a convincing win against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium, CSK was forced to move its home matches to Pune last year owing to the tense situation in the State caused by the Cauvery water dispute.

CSK marked its return with a five-wicket win against Kolklata Knight Riders in the only home match it played at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. CSK has so far played 48 home matches.

The opening match will straightaway bring into picture the captaincy mettle of Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli.


CSK holds considerable advantage in the 22 matches the two teams have played so far; it has won 14 including the last six, while RCB has won on seven occasions. RCB’s home match in April 2012 did not deliver a result.

The BCCI-IPL has not announced the full schedule though and they have also attached a rider to the 17-match programme featuring the eight teams across as many home venues.

The release said: These (schedule) are still subject to the announcement of the Lok Sabha 2019 election dates. Once these have been released, the BCCI will address any issue with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates.’’

The eight teams will play a minimum of four matches (two each home and away) while Delhi Capitals and RCB will play five (three home and two away). There will be no off-day between March 23 and April 5 when the 17 matches will be played.


March 23: CSK vs RCB (Chennai)

March 24: KKR vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (Kolkata, Afternoon

Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals (Mumbai, Evening)

March 25: Rajasthan Royals vs KXIP (Jaipur)

March 26: Delhi Capitals vs CSK (Delhi)

March 27: KKR vs KXIP (Kolkata)

March 28: RCB vs MI (Bengaluru)

March 29: Sunrisers vs Rajasthan Royals (Hyderabad)

March 30: KXIP vs MI (Mohali, Afternoon)

Delhi Capitals vs KKR (Delhi, Evening)

March 31: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs RCB (Hyderabad, Afternoon)

CSK vs Rajasthan Royals (Chennai, Evening)

April 1: KXIP vs Delhi Capitals (Mohali)

April 2: Rajasthan Royals vs RCB (Jaipur)

April 3: MI vs CSK (Mumbai)

April 4: Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (Delhi)

April 5: RCB vs KKR (Bengaluru).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
HK - Like Us
Kerala News, news kerala, kerala online, kerala headlines, corona kerala, Kerala News, Malayalam News, Online, Kerala Headlines, Headlines Kerala, Corona News